For the first time the name of the village meets in a document of 1268, and recorded in the manuscript relating to churches and monasteries (Ecclesiarum et Monasteriorum Catasticum Comunis) of 1320, as well as in all subsequent inventory directories from 1577.
On this basis the settlement should come from the second Byzantine period, taking account of two very old churches of Panagia Karkadiotissa (from which it took the name of the village) and the Church of "Astratigos Church" (Michael Archangel) located on the north side and bring the remains of Byzantine religious paintings on its walls.
Nice and tidy village with restored stone houses, courtyards, with beautiful stone-built Fountain in the square, maintains its traditional beauty and charm, offering aesthetic satisfaction to the visitor. Nice visit is this in the "Boskokeli katsoyfidwn" in place of "Goynari", while very close (to the Northwest) are the ruins of abandoned old village "Agalantes".
The village celebrates the Virgin Mary Karkadiotissa on 8 September with nice traditional feasting. In the cafes of the village visitors can enjoy delicious traditional delicacies and enjoy hours of enjoyment while conversing with the hospitable inhabitants.
From the Karkadiotissa descended the great folk poet and peace activist, Michalis Stavrakakis (Michalos) whose poems have been set to music by major composers (G. Markopoulos, Xarchakos) and sing from great artists (N. Xylouris, T. Skoulas, etc.)